Austin Dog Rescue is made up purely of volunteers. Each dog is sheltered within a home in the Austin area. As such, there is no physical shelter to visit the dog at. If you think you may be interested in a particular dog now or in the future, please fill out an application form. People with approved application forms are prioritized over people who haven’t yet applied.

Dempsey

AVAILABLE
Minimum Donation: $190 190 $

Description

My name is Dempsey and I'm a very handsome, fun-loving boy who is finally ready to find my forever home!

When I first came to Austin Dog Rescue, I was a bit of a mess (not that you can tell that now!). After many tests and treatments, I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease. My skin was in bad shape, I was very underweight and it was painful for me to move around. I was extremely nervous and didn't understand that all of these new people were trying to help me.

Now I've filled out, my skin is completely healed and I love to spend my days playing with my furry foster sisters followed by lots of snuggles with my humans! I have good manners and don't even chase cats. Stairs are a bit of a challenge for me, so a single-story home or one where I could live downstairs (ideally sleeping in the same room as my new humans) would be preferred. I don't think I would do very well in an apartment as I can be a little loud when I get
excited.

I'm on daily prednisone and a special diet to help control my symptoms. I've made so much progress medically, but I do need a family that will be able to help maintain my health and keep an eye out for potential changes in case they need to adjust my medication or have me wear a cone at night if I get too itchy.

I would love to find a home with a female doggy playmate that has a similar energy to me. My ideal family would work from home or only leave the house for 3-4 hours at a time. I have a HUGE heart, and I promise to reciprocate all the love and attention you give me with all the snuggles you can handle!

If you're interested in learning more about me, please submit an application!

Profile

Age: 7 years old
Looks Like: German Shepherd
Gender: Male
Available for Adoption NOW
Cats: Yes
Good with Kids Children over 5
Est. Adult Weight: 70 lbs